Member Secretary Photo

Dr Prakash M Sobarad

Director (Technical)
Dept. of EIT, BT and S&T/ MD, KSTePS

Dr. Prakash M. Sobarad has completed B.Sc. Agriculture, M.Sc. in Agronomy from University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad. He had his Ph.D. in Agronomy from Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi. He has completed post-graduation Diploma in Rural Development from Indira Gandhi National Open University. He has also completed certificate course in Food and Nutrition. He was awarded with Junior and Senior Research Fellowship from ICAR. He has been awarded with University of Agricultural Sciences and Agricultural College, Dharwad Silver Jubilee Gold Medal for securing the highest marks and first among M.Sc. Agriculture. He has also been awarded with G.A. Dastane gold medal for significant research in Doctor of Philosophy in Agronomy. He served as Assistant Professor at University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad. Later he appointed as Senior Assistant Director of Horticulture as Probationary Officer and served in different Districts as Senior Assistant Director and Deputy Director in the Department of Horticulture in Koppal, Gadag and Bagalkot. He has served in the Department of Watershed Development as Joint Director of Horticulture, Joint Director of Planning and Joint Director of Biotechnology Centre at Hulimavu. He served as Additional Director of Horticulture looking after Farms and Nurseries, Oil Palm Project and efficiently monitored Flagship Program like Comprehensive Horticulture Development, Krishi Bhagya Yojane, Farmers Producers Organizations, Private Public Partnership for Integrated Horticulture Development at State level.

He served as Horticulture Department State Nodal Officer for Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA) for the year 2008-09. During which the Department of Horticulture had achieved highest ever recorded progress of Rs. 110 crore with his continuous capacity building to all the officers/staffs involved in implementation of MGNREGA. He has played a major role in establishing necessary infrastructure facilities for University of Horticultural Sciences and College of Horticulture at Bagalkot from 2007-09.

He has put remarkable efforts in establishment of Integrated Bio Centres at Mysore and Davanagere. He has initiated a new concept for developments of Farms and Nurseries of the Horticulture Departments namely “Developments of Model Farms” across the State and he was responsible for initiation an unique program called “Sassya Santhe” throughout the State. He had participated in International Banana and Plantain and Vegetable Crops Conference. He has contributed more than 150 Agricultural and allied subjects of Horticulture information to the farming community through ETV Kannada, All India Radio and Doordarshan.

He has been felicitated with District Level Rajyostava Award for his outstanding performance and talent in Government servant during 2008.

He also been awarded with State level Sarvothamma Award for excellent service in Government Administration during 2016.

He has published 5 technical books related to Horticulture and more than 20 scientific publications published in different national journals and magazines.

Presently, he is serving as Director (Technical), Department of Electronics, Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science and Technology, Govt. of Karnataka and Managing Director, Karnataka Science and Technology Promotion Society (KSTePS) and also as Member Secretary at Karnataka Science and Technology Academy.

ಹಕ್ಕುಗಳು 2019- ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ ವಿಜ್ಞಾನ ಮತ್ತು ತಂತ್ರಜ್ಞಾನ ಅಕಾಡೆಮಿ. Copyright (c) 2019. Karnataka Science & Technology Academy
ಈ ವೆಬ್‌ಸೈಟ್ ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ ವಿಜ್ಞಾನ ಮತ್ತು ತಂತ್ರಜ್ಞಾನ ಅಕಾಡೆಮಿಗೆ ಸೇರಿದೆ. This is the official website of Karnataka Science and Technology Academy
Skip to content